Manic Monday

Just another Manic Monday! OoooooOooo!

(P.S. Bangles: Please don’t sue me.)

I’m lucky, really. I have more time than most to write my great American novel. My husband works, and as someone who’s held three jobs at once for much longer than I should have, believe me when I say I appreciate all of this free time.

But, how does one find the time? (Hint: Don’t ever start a sentence with a conjunction!) Even without working I have other responsibilities. We live in a large house with five fur babies. That’s a lot of vacuuming and hair on a daily basis. How do people with a job and small children find the time to write? How do any of us?

No matter your position, if the passion is there, you’ll do it. Even when I was working multiple jobs I somehow managed to find the time to sit down and write. I couldn’t help it. It was a way to unwind. Almost as though, the more busy I was, the more addicted to writing I became. Perhaps it was due to my ability to escape reality. Which I often did via writing or reading.

Back to finding time, though; I feel that part of the reason so many writers aren’t taken seriously is because they haven’t made it big. What does that have to do with time? Well, working on a novel full time it still takes a lot of work and time to get one out. Think of any professional author or novelist. How long is the wait between their books? A few months? A year? A few years? More often than not, it’s usually about a book a year.

Now, remember this one thing: they do it full time. For a living. It is their job. They most likely have assistants and people to cook and clean for them too (this isn’t for certain but, I know I would!). Now, imagine if you spent the same amount of time on a daily basis as you did with your other job. Be it cashier, accountant, or mom/dad.

I think too many people get down on themselves for not being further along. You, whoever you are, are doing great! Even if all you can manage is ten minutes a day, or a week, you’re still doing it. And you’re doing the best you can.

This blog post isn’t really informative so much as a pep talk, and what it stems from is a conversation I had with my husband the other day. I asked him, “Do you want me to be your maid or a writer?” Don’t get me wrong. My husband is amazing and understanding and I realize how completely lucky I am to have this opportunity. Which lead me to think of everyone who isn’t so lucky but still finds the time to write. To live their dream and pursue their passion. I remember when I was such a person and now I’m lucky enough to do it full time.

So just keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

